Project: Recipe Box with the Love from Lizi August card kit

Hello my crafty friends!

Today I have a project share for you.

IMG_20170808_134115

When I saw the unboxing and theme of the Love from Lizi August card kit, I knew that I wanted to use the materials for something special, but I didn’t have a clear concept or idea what to do. It was when I found a couple of other baking themed patterned papers in my stash that I decided to make a recipe box with 6×4 cards, decorated in the front and with lined paper at the back to write the recipe down.

This makes a great gift for a cooking and baking lover, you could gift it with your collected favorite recipes or for the recipient to fill out. But you could also keep it for yourself collecting recipes from your Mum or Grandma or from friends.

I used most of the materials from the card kit, apart from the red and ivory card stock, the specialty papers and some patterned papers I want to use for autumn themed cards when I’m back in England and a couple of other things from my stash I will list at the end of the blog post.

Recipe box

IMG_20170808_132528

I used a white piece of cardstock measured 13 3/4x 10 1/8″ and I scored and cut it the way you can see on my sketch.

IMG_20170808_131924

I used strips of the magnet that came in the August kit and attached it to the front flap and the front part of the box, so it’s closed properly. The red card stock pieces are each about 1/8″ smaller than the box parts.

I also attached one of the vellum pieces at the front. I thought the saying fits perfectly the whole thing. I also attached a magnet at the bottom of the vellum.

IMG_20170808_134850

For the dividers I cut 4 pieces of brown card stock in 4×6 1/8″ and attached 1/2 of a circle at the top. I printed out some headers and decorated them with the gem stones from the kit.

IMG_20170808_133457

Recipe cards

(Please click on the pictures to enlarge the individual photos)

I cut the card stock and patterned paper from my stash in 4×6″ pieces and cut the left overs from the card stock in stripes to use as decorations.

I cut the patterned papers from the kit 3 7/8x 5 7/8″ to leave a small border of the cardstock.

I used stamped and colored images, the Nuvo drops, gems, chocolate brown sticker strips to decorate the front of the cards.

The back of the recipe cards could look like that then:

I decided to handwrite those recipes but you could also type them on your computer and print them out.

IMG_20170808_145726

Materials used

*Love from Lizi August card kit

*Cardstock in white, red, brown

*Baking themed patterned paper

*Baking themed stamp set (freebie from Creative Stamping magazine)

*Reeves water soluble wax pastels

*Faber Castell Gelatos

*Faber Castell Pitt Artist pen in deep Scarlet red

*Stabilo felttip in red

*Versa color pigment ink

*Ranger Archival ink

Thanks for stopping by

Happy crafting

Franziska

 

 

Leave a Reply

